The Daily Knightley

BONUS: BIPOC Book Recs and Other Things

The Daily Knightley
BONUS: BIPOC Book Recs and Other Things
/

This episode, we’re going to take a break from our inconsistently scheduled program and bring you some awesome book recommendations to support some amazing BIPOC writers and creators. ### MENTIONS **Jasmine Guillory’s *The Wedding Date***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33815781-the-wedding-date](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33815781-the-wedding-date) **Andrea Levy’s *The Long Song***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7500150-the-long-song](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7500150-the-long-song) **Talia Hibbert’s *Get a Life, Chloe Brown***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43884209-get-a-life-chloe-brown](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43884209-get-a-life-chloe-brown) **Rivers Solomon’s *The Deep***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42201962-the-deep](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42201962-the-deep) **Angie Thomas’s *On the Come Up***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35887567-on-the-come-up](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35887567-on-the-come-up) **Angie Thomas’s *The Hate U Give***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32075671-the-hate-u-give](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32075671-the-hate-u-give) **Candice Carty-Williams’s *Queenie***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36586697-queenie](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36586697-queenie) **Charles Yu’s *Interior Chinatown***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44436221-interior-chinatown](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44436221-interior-chinatown) **N.K. Jemisin’s *The City We Became***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42074525-the-city-we-became](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42074525-the-city-we-became) **N.K. Jemisin’s *The Broken Earth* trilogy**: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19161852-the-fifth-season](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19161852-the-fifth-season) **N.K. Jemisin’s *Inheritance* trilogy**: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6437061-the-hundred-thousand-kingdoms](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6437061-the-hundred-thousand-kingdoms) **Kacen Callender’s *Felix Ever After***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45359713-felix-ever-after](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/45359713-felix-ever-after) **Adiba Jaigirdar’s *The Henna Wars***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44286258-the-henna-wars](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44286258-the-henna-wars) **Alyssa Cole’s *A Princess in Theory***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35271238-a-princess-in-theory](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35271238-a-princess-in-theory) **Alyssa Cole’s *An Extraordinary Union: An Epic Love Story of the Civil War***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30237404-an-extraordinary-union](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30237404-an-extraordinary-union) **Alyssa Cole’s *That Could Be Enough***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35271238-a-princess-in-theory](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35271238-a-princess-in-theory) **Nnedi Okorafor’s *Binti***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25667918-binti](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25667918-binti) **Rivers Solomon’s *An Unkindness of Ghosts***: [https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34381254-an-unkindness-of-ghosts](https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34381254-an-unkindness-of-ghosts) ### OTHER THINGS *[“When black people are in pain, white people just join book clubs”](https://www.washingtonpost.com/outlook/white-antiracist-allyship-book-clubs/2020/06/11/9edcc766-abf5-11ea-94d2-d7bc43b26bf9_story.html)* (Washington Post) [The Stacks](https://thestackspodcast.com/) - podcast [Code Switch](https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510312/codeswitch) - podcast **[Support Black People Master Doc](https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Mo2E-M9Bw57ndJrRVegxVhwhI11SWFNPQdQEFVyn02Q/edit)** - a huge but by no means complete document of ways you can help support BLM **A list of Black-owned bookstores you can support:** [https://aalbc.com/bookstores/list.php](https://aalbc.com/bookstores/list.php) **18 Million Rising's Black History Month Reading List for Asian Americans**: [https://18millionrising.org/2020/02/bhm_reads.html](https://18millionrising.org/2020/02/bhm_reads.html) If you want to join in on the conversation, join us in reading **chapters 36 to 40 of Pride and Prejudice** Talk to us! We’d love to hear from you. [https://thedailyknightley.com](https://thedailyknightley.com) Twitter: [https://twitter.com/knightleypod](https://twitter.com/knightleypod) Instagram: [https://instagram.com/thedailyknightley](https://instagram.com/thedailyknightley) Email: [thedailyknightley@gmail.com](mailto:thedailyknightley@gmail.com) Goodreads: [https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/995555-the-daily-knightley](https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/995555-the-daily-knightley) Music from [https://filmmusic.io](https://filmmusic.io): “Improbable” by Kevin MacLeod ([https://incompetech.com](https://incompetech.com) Licence: CC BY ([http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/](http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/)
Brought to you by The Daily Knightley of The Daily Knightley